Latest Headlines


SC appoints third judge to determine 18 AIADMK MLAs


Madras High Court judge, Justice M. Sathyanarayanan has been appointed by the Supreme Court as the third judge to decide plea made by 18 AIADMK MLAs against their disqualification.

The disqualified MLAs had moved Supreme Court seeking seeking transfer of their case from the Madras High Court to the apex court.

On June 14, the Madras High Court gave a divided verdict on petitions challenging the disqualification of the 18 MLAs loyal to sidelined party leader T.T.V Dhinakaran, a ruling that maintained the status quo in the corridors of power in Tamil Nadu.

A Division Bench of the High Court, comprising Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Justice M. Sundar delivered divided verdicts on whether the 18 MLAs deserved to be disqualified under the anti-defection law by Speaker P. Dhanapal on September 18, 2017 for approaching the Governor and seeking the removal of Chief Minister K Palaniswami.


12 acres of land released by Security Force Headquarters East...

The Security Force Headquarters-East (SF-E) has formally released some 12 acres of lands. The relevant documents were handed during a brief meeting, held with Governor...
Read more

Jaffna Mayor Emmanuel Arnold at Human Rights Day in Nallur...

Jaffna Mayor Emmanuel Arnold was the Chief Guest at the Human Rights Day held at Thurkka Mani Mandapam in Nallur recently. It was organized by...
Read more

Father of Jaffna Co-operative Movement Veerasingam remembered

A simple ceremony was held in Jaffna to commemorate the 54 th death anniversary of the Father of the Jaffna Co-operative Movement V.Veerasingam. President of...
Read more

UN officials in Mullaitheewu meet civil society activists

United Nations officials visited Mullaitivu on Wednesday and met civil society activists and held discussions about their problems. They also met with the members of...
Read more


© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.