Religious leaders meet Party Leaders discuss crucial issues


A group of religious representatives met party leaders at the Parliamentary Complex to discuss several crucial issues affecting the country. Speaker Karu Jayasuriya chaired. The meeting was facilitated following a request by an all-religious group to express their opinion on several key contemporary matters.

The Speaker’s Media Division issuing a press release yesterday, said the importance of unity and mutual understanding between the political authority and religious leaders towards national unity and reconciliation was stressed at the meeting. Attention had also been paid towards the on-going Constitutional reforms process.

Speaker Jayasuriya said the views expressed by the religious representatives would be directed to the urgent attention of the President and Prime Minister. The all-religious group consisted of Buddhist, Catholic, Christian, Muslim and Hindu representatives.

Opposition Leader R Sampanthan, Ministers Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Ravi Karunanayake, Rauf Hakeem and Mano Ganesan, Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala, MPs Douglas Devananda and M A Sumanthiran took part in the meeting together with the Speaker.

Buddhist representatives of the convention at the discussion were : Most Ven. Dr. Iththepane Dhammalankara mahanayake, Most Ven. Dr. Bellanwila Wimalaratne anunayakeThera , Ven. Neethiyawala Palitha Nanayakkara nayake Thera , Ven. Nagoda Amarawansa nayakeThera ,Ven. Kollupitiye Mahinda Sangharakitha nayake Thera , Ven. Banagala Upatissanayake Thera, Ven. Dr. Walpola Wimalagnana Thera , Ven . Horawala Dhammajothi nayakeThera ,Ven. Kihimbiye Vijitha nayake Thera and Ven. Rukmale Dhammakithi nayakeThera.

The Catholic representatives were Rev. archbishop Oswald Gomez , Father Clitus Chandrasiri Perera , Father Mervyn Fernando , Father Placidus De Silva , Father Maxwell Silva , Shamil Perera ,Shirley Tissera and Andrew Samaratunge.

The Christian representatives were : Father W.P. Ebenezer Joseph , Father Noel Fernando and Father Premasiri Fernando.
The Muslim (Islam) representatives were : S.M. Inam Bawa Moulavi , Fazeel Farook and Shaik Thassim.

The Hindu representative was : K.V.K. Kurukkal Sivarasa





© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.