Latest Headlines


Angelo Mathews named ODI /T20 Captain


Angel Mathews has been re-appointed captain of Sri Lanka Cricket Team in both limited-overs formats.

The announcement was made during a press briefing at the SLC auditorium in Colombo on Tuesday. SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala ,SLC CEO, Ashley de Silva, Vice President in charge of international cricket, K. Mathivanan, Chairman of Selectors, Graham Labrooy and Head Coach Chandika Hathurusinghe were present.

Angelo Mathews is due to lead his country in Tri-Nation One Day International tournament in Bangladesh. He first captained Sri Lanka between 2013 and 2017. He resigned from from captaincy at the end of Zimbabwe tour of Sri Lanka in July 2017 after ODI loss.

Angelo Mathews captained the country in 98 ODI, winning 47 and losing 45 while 5 ended in draws.

The 16 member squad for the Tri-Nation ODI tournament in Bangladesh was also announced at the event. The team consists of Angelo Mathews(C), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Asela Gunaratne,Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal,Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Shehan Madushanka, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan and Wanidu Hasaranga.


Thiruvalluvar statue unveiled in Vavuniya

The statue of Tamil poet Thiruvalluvar was unveiled in the premises of the Roman Catholic Mixed School in Vavuniya recently. Principal Navaratnam presided. Zonal Director...
Read more

Sampanthan declares open Kottiyapurapattu ITAK branch

Tamil National Alliance Leader, Opposition Leader R. Sampanthan declared open the Kottiarapattu branch of the Illankai Tamil Arasu Katchi in Navalady Junction in Muthur East...
Read more

Saravanapavan declares open Sri Murugan Pre-school in Araly

Tamil National Alliance Jaffna Parliamentarian E.Saravanapavan declared open the Pre-school of the Araly Sri Murugan Community Centre recently. He was also the Chief Guest at...
Read more

Late Abdul Kalam’s birth anniversary in Jaffna

A simple ceremony was held at the Indian Corner in the Jaffna Public Library recently to mark the birth anniversary of late Abdul Kalam, former...
Read more


© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.