Latest Headlines


House passes second reading of Budget with majority of 43 votes

parliamentSL 700 01

Parliament on Tuesday passed the second reading of the Budget 2019 presented by Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera with a majority of 43 votes at the end of seven day debate. 119 MPs voted in favour of the budget and 76 MPs voted against it.

When the division was called by UPFA MP Dinesh Gunawardena, the UPFA and the JVP voted against the budget. Opposition Leader Mahinda Rajapaksa voted against the budget.

The TNA members voted along with the government members. The two Opposition MPs from the Ceylon Workers' Congress (CWC) including its leader Arumugam Thondaman also voted in favour of the Budget.

29 MPs were absent. SLFP Maithree-Group members namely Ven. Aturaliye Ratana Thera, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Dayasiri Jayasekera, Shantha Bandara, Thilanga Sumathipala, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Mahinda Amaraweera, Douglas Devananda, Duminda Dissanayake and Dr Sarath Amunugama were among the absentees.






Gotabaya’s election campaign office declared open in Amparai

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna presidential candidate Gotabaya’s election propaganda office was declared open in Amparai on Friday. (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle ||...
Read more

International Peace Day in Batticaloa

A symposium was held in Batticaloa to mark the International Peace Day with the participation of religious leaders and social activists. ...
Read more

Madawala Bazaar Hillcountry Boys’ College holds Prize Day

- By J.M.Hafeez The Annual Prize Day of the Madawala Bazaar Hillcountry Boys’ College in Kandy was held on Friday, September 21 with the participation of...
Read more

Australian High Commissioner calls on Batticaloa Mayor

High Commissioner for Australia in Sri Lanka David Holly paid a courtesy call on Batticaloa Mayor T.Saravanapavan on Friday and held discussions. The envoy was...
Read more


© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.