Latest Headlines


Geetha disqualified to be MP; SC upholds CA Order


Five-judge-bench Supreme Court chaired by Chief Justice Priyasath Dep today unanimously upheld the Court of Appeal judgment dated May 3 declaring that Galle District MP Geetha Kumarasinghe is disqualified to be a member of parliament and thus not entitled to hold office as a Member of Parliament.

The appeal filed by Geetha Kumarasinghe was dismissed with cost. The registrar of Supreme Court was directed that this order be sent to the Secretary General of Parliament forthwith.

This judgment was delivered by Supreme Court Judge Sisira de Abrew, who was a member of five-judge-Bench which heard the appeal. The Bench comprised Chief Justice Priyasath Dep, Justice Buwaneka Aluwihare, Justice Sisira de Abrew, Justice Anil Goonaratne and Justice Nalin Perera.

President’s Counsel Romesh de Silva with counsel Sugath Caldera appeared for MP Geetha Kumarasinghe. President’s Counsel J. C. Weliamuna PC, Faiz Musthapha PC, Chandaka Jayasundara PC and Pulasthi Rupasinghe appeared on behalf of the respondents.
Deputy Solicitor General Nerin Pulle with Senior State Counsel Suren Gnanaraj appeared for the Secretary General of Parliament and Controller of Immigration and Emigration. Counsel Suren Fernando appearing for intervenient petitioner Piyasena Ranasinghe.


Father of Jaffna Co-operative Movement Veerasingam remembered

A simple ceremony was held in Jaffna to commemorate the 54 th death anniversary of the Father of the Jaffna Co-operative Movement V.Veerasingam. President of...
Read more

UN officials in Mullaitheewu meet civil society activists

United Nations officials visited Mullaitivu on Wednesday and met civil society activists and held discussions about their problems. They also met with the members of...
Read more

Governor Cooray orders probe into financial fraud by Ananthi Sasitharan

Governor of Northern Province Reginald Cooray has appointed a three member committee to probe a financial fraud allegedly committed by former Minister of the Northern...
Read more

EP Governor pays last respect to slain police constable in...

EP Governor Rohitha Bogollagama paid last respect to slain Police Constable late Ganesh Dinesh who was killed in Vavunatheewu recently. His funeral was held at...
Read more


© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.