Latest Headlines


Contempt of Court charge; Wigneswaran, 2 PC ministers directed to appear on Sept 18


Court of Appeal Judge Justice Janak de Silva has directed Northern Province Chief Minister C.V. Wigneswaran and two other Provincial Council Ministers Ananthi Sasitharan and K.Sivanesan in Court on September 18 in regard to the contempt of Court charge against them.

This matter will be taken up before Court of Appeal two-judge-Bench on the next date.

The Court of Appeal made the order sequel to a complaint made by B. Denishwaran alleging that Northern Province Chief Minister C.V. Wigneswaran and Ananthi Sasitharan and K. Sivanesan have willfully acted in contempt of the Court of Appeal order since they prevented him from acting as a Minister of the Northern Province.

The respondent Wigneswaran and two other Provincial Ministers answered summons yesterday.

Provincial Councilor Deniswaran states in his petition that the Appeals Court had recently issued an Interim Order against the Gazette notification to remove him from his ministerial portfolio.

The Appeals Court had issued a stay Order on the gazette notification of his removal from the Provincial minister post by the respondents and ordered his reinstatement to the post.

The petition further states that the Northern Province Chief Minister, a former Supreme Court Judge, failed to carry out the Court Order in Contempt of Court.

K. Kanag Ishwaran PC, appeared for Wigneswaran.

Counsel Suren Fernando appeared for B. Deniswaran.



Jaffna Mayor graces Thai Pongal at Jaffna MC

Jaffna Mayor Emmanuel Arnold graced the Thai Pongal held on Wednesday under the auspices of the Jaffna Municipal Council. Municipal Commissioner Balachandran presided. Municipal Councilor...
Read more

Kite Festival in Valvettithurai to mark Pongal Festival

A colorful annual kite festival was held at the Valvettithurai Vigneshwara Stadium to mark the Thai Pongal Festival. It  was jointly organized by the Jaffna District...
Read more

NP Governor graces Thai Pongal Festival at Governor’s office

Northern Province Governor Dr. Suran Raghawan graced the event held at the Governor’s office to celebrate Thai Pongal. Religious leaders representing all religions attended the event...
Read more

Colombo Mayor Rosy Senanayake calls on WP Governor

Mayor of Colombo Rosy Senanayake paid a courtesy call on the Western Province Governor Azath Salley at the Governor’s Secretariat in Colombo on Monday. Addressing the...
Read more


© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.